Skip to main content

This is a new service – your feedback will help us to improve it.

Posted Wed, 05 Jan 2022 11:09:20 GMT by ilnomis
Hi, I'm a British citizen and have plans to move abroad. Please assist with the below questions: 1: If I continue to trade shares on a trading platform with a UK address (I will continue to keep my UK home); 1a: Do I continue to pay UK CGT? 1b: Do I ever stop paying UK CGT? perhaps after I become a non-resident or after 5 years being abroad or? 1c: Does the trading account address have any impact on the tax status at all? I presume not, but just wanted to confirm. 1d: My understanding is that I cannot use the HMRC online services (including self-assessment), so is it either use their postal service or a tax advisor? 2: I've made some investments in startups (whilst in the UK as a UK resident); 2a: Do I pay UK CGT when I sell it regardless of whether I'm a UK resident or non- UK resident? Many thanks
Posted Fri, 07 Jan 2022 09:41:33 GMT by HMRC Admin 2
Hi,

As a non resident, you will only pay CGT on UK property disposals, not shares.

If this is a trade then again as a non resident this would not be reportable.

As a non resident you will not be able to file online for self assessment.

This would only be required if you meet any Self Assessment criteria.

SAM100060 - Records: set up taxpayer record: criteria for an SA record

Thank you.
Posted Fri, 07 Jan 2022 09:55:37 GMT by ilnomis